Forum Home Forum Home > Chalfont St Peter > Memory Lane
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

the Greyhound

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Sandbox
Sandbox

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: the Greyhound
    Posted: 20 August 2007 at 12:51pm
I've noticed that lots of people are bemoaning the changes to 'The Greyhound Inn'. It was indeed a lovely old pub full of copper pans and so on (in the late 60s and early 70s they employed an old man specifically to polish the brass and copper ware). I worked as a chambermaid there in the mid 70s in the summer vac from Uni. Not only did I get to clean the rooms but also had the delightful duty of taking the then landlord's clothes, including underpants, to the laundrette. All I can say is, no wonder they didn't want to put them through the Inn's own washing machine!!!! I also got to clean the bathroom of the male kitchen help. So hideous was the lavatory there that all I could do was to rush in, squirt Harpic down the pan and make a run for it before I had to take the next breath. Happy days!   

And incidentally, what happened to the yellow London to York stage coach which adorned the carpark in times gone by?

Edited by Lloyd - 29 August 2007 at 1:49pm
LC
Sponsored Links

Wolfie View Drop Down
Chalfontonian
Chalfontonian

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wolfie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 August 2007 at 5:35pm
LLoyd, I want to know what has happened to the stone statue of a greyhound which used to be on their flat roof.  Apparently, he's gone to happier places (i.e. the builders probably nicked him)

Power to the people

Robbo View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Robbo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 January 2012 at 8:29am